I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike

Since we have moved to the city, I have been trying to minimise my car usage, and have been looking for a vintage style bike. The boy bought a bike last weekend, and I am looking forward to crisp winter days riding around Brisbane with a picnic and a bunch of flowers in my basket.

First though, I need a bike! Fell in love with some in West End on the weekend, but unfortunately they are out of my price range at the moment (especially with Splendour tickets going on sale this week).

So I am currently on the hunt for a cheap-ish vintage style bike that is easy to ride (it’s been a while) and available in the Brisbane area.  Let me know if you are selling one!

WARNING: If you are considering getting a bike, do not look at the flickr stream of letsgorideabike.  The pictures are stunning and so inspiring!

Also, a very very dangerous blog is Copenhagen Cycle Chic.  Wow, I have no idea how people can look so amazing while riding around, I’m sure I will be sweaty and grazed from falling off!

All photos from: letsgorideabike

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike

  1. Thanks for this lovely write-up!

    It’s always exciting for me to hear from women who are returning to cycling. The more city cycling experience you get, the easier it will become. Plus, those Copenhagen people must sweat a little, just can’t tell in a photograph 🙂

  2. Sox

    I’m sorry I don’t have a bike for you. You sound so enthusiastic!
    With an upright style bike, I find I don’t sweat as much. It could be the increased airflow around my upright body, or the fact that I can’t ride as fast (pronounced hard). I am a little warm, but never dripping, even on our hottest days.
    Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

