why I’m not a food blogger

Most food bloggers take immaculate photos of their ingredients, and pick up their camera throughout the entire cooking process, before precisely styling the final product to get the perfect shot.

I have so much admiration for bloggers (e.g. tartelette and bakerella) who show off their cooking with such amazing styling and  photography.

In contrast, when I cook the kitchen is a disaster-zone.   Needless to say, my camera stays far away from my grubby hands a majority of the time, except when I set out to take some photos – and then the whole process just takes far too long for a standard week night dinner.

I hope that explains why this post is very light on images. Also, my lovely boyfriend barely let me snap these photos before he gobbled these right up!

I cooked a veggo frittata for dinner last night and there was a bit of shortcrust pastry left over. Instantly I knew I was going to have to rustle up some kind of dessert.

Dessert usually takes planning – I don’t keep things like cream, custard or icecream on hand (because it would be way too easy to indulge nightly). I looked around the kitchen, saw the ripe bananas and knew it would have to be a spin on my banana, date and oat cookies (which are literally bananas, cut up dates and oats mixed together and put into the oven).

I had a bunch of macadamia nuts sitting in the pantry so threw those in the food processor, along with some walnuts and the dates, and then mashed the bananas in by hand.

I placed a small amount of the mixture into the centre of the pastry pieces and folded them up. I think they look like sweet little won-tons. They tasted so delicious that I barely got a chance to snap a single photo.

Oats were added to the remaining mixture to yield some healthy treats… if only we didn’t eat the whole batch in one go!


3 Comments

Filed under food

3 responses to “why I’m not a food blogger

  1. Emm

    They look super scrummy!! I wish I were as talented as you in the kitchen. I always add too much garlic or too much milk!!! I’m hopeless haha
    but I’ve been wanting to make macaroons and I remember you made some once right? Is it worth it?

    Love emm
    spindizzyfall

  2. Yuuummmm! I hear you on the disaster zone – I love to cook, but i’m not what you would call a tidy chef 🙂

    Luv, Friend in Fashion
    http://www.friendinfashion.blogspot.com
    x

    P.S. thank you so much for your email – I’ve sent through a reply 🙂
    xx

  3. Jas!
    I’m making macaroons today! nervous! But i’m checking out the links you gave me and i think i’ll do the one egg thing you said, wish me luck!

    love emm
    spindizzyfall

Leave a Reply

