Eight Things

This week I have received a bit of blogger love, so a big thank you and shout out to Rach from Want What She’s Wearing and Leashiloo from All Kinds of Hungry for tagging me in their posts.

Also, I know I don’t say it enough, so thank you to all of you who read, comment and let me know that you enjoy my blog.  It really does mean a lot and helps me to strive towards producing better content, even on the days when I have writers block.

Since I am constantly writing about things I like, I thought it would be more interesting to answer the eight questions passed on to me by Rach.

Eight things:

1.) why did you start blogging?

I started blogging as a creative outlet during my honours year.  While I was bogged down writing scientific articles and conducting experiments, trawling fashion blogs was my big escape, but my blog was really just an online journal.  I took a blogging hiatus while travelling overseas, preferring to post on our travel blog, but after meeting Jess from Wide Awake Thoughts I was inspired to re-invent my blog and turn it into the type of blog that I like to read.  I blog because I like to blog, and though fizzleout lacks a real focus I am enjoying the whole experience and finding my place in the blogging world.

2.) do you prefer spring/summer or autumn/winter?

Spring/Summer for sure, I can’t stand cold weather (which I found out very quickly while living in London), though do love a respite from the summer heat of Brisbane.

3.) what do you notice first: smokey eye make-up or bright lips?

I rarely wear lipstick but a bright lip always captures my attention.

4.) who are your style icons?

My fave is Alexa Chung, but these days I get most of my style inspiration from bloggers.  Some favourites are: Hanneli Mustaparta, Nicole of Gary Pepper Vintage and Bel of Lovemore.  I find myself being inspired by real people with attainable style, rather than celebrities.

5.) describe your personality in three words?

dreamer, playful, stubborn

6.) if you had to leave the house with only one item of make-up what would it be?

Mineral make-up

7.) Which era do you think influenced fashion the most?

The 60s, when the mini skirt first came in to popularity.  I think it was the beginning of women having the freedom to wear whatever they want.

These days it is hard to believe that there was such outrage for a woman wearing a dress to the races that didn’t reach her knees.

8.) what beauty product do you always repurchase?

Papaw ointment.  It is the magical cure for dry chapped lips and I use it to tame eyebrows and add a bit of shine.

Photos from:

my camera

Zimbio

The Age

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Eight Things

  1. Lovely answers Jaz. Paw paw ointment is also the miracle cure for itchy-as-hell mozzie bites! I never go without it in Summer.

    • thanks darl. Yeah I pretty much put it on anything red or that hurts and it seems to do the trick. We ordered it online while we were in London cause nothing else could replace it! Oh I realised I forgot to tag people… oh well it is too hard to choose just 3 anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

