Polenta with Roasted Vegetables and Goats Cheese

Adapted from September 2010 delicious magazine.

Feeling inspired from the success of the open ravioli, I was excited to try another recipe from delicious.

I have had polenta sitting in the back of my pantry for a while now, along with a million other obscure ingredients, just waiting for the right recipe to come along.  Anything with roasted vegetables is a guaranteed winner in our house, so this recipe seemed like the perfect opportunity to empty a little pantry space and add another favourite to our repertoire.

As usual, I changed the recipe to suit our tastes and what we had on hand, so roasted up some red onion, pumpkin, sweet potato, eggplant, mushrooms and zucchini, drizzled in olive oil and sprinkled with fresh Rosemary from our balcony herb garden.

After about half an hour of cooking and turning intermittently, I started to make the polenta. For this step I followed the recipe exactly and added 300ml of milk (ignoring the fact that I have been avoiding it) to 400ml water and brought this to almost the point of boiling. At this stage the heat was turned down and 1/2 a cup of polenta was whisked into the mixture.  Turning the heat right down, the mixture was continually stirred with a wooden spoon until the mixture was thickened but still able to be poured.  At this point the polenta was removed from the stove and grated parmesan was added, the mixture was seasoned, and transferred to the serving plates.

I highly recommend serving this in a shallow bowl, as although the polenta will firm up as it cools, a huge mess could be made while plating it up.

Top the polenta with the roasted vegetables, and add chunks of goats cheese and serve.  The original recipe used a blue cheese but rather than go out to the shops and buy some specifically, I used the left over goats cheese that was remaining after the open ravioli and it worked beautifully.

Sorry for the slack amount of photos – I am such a lazy blogger and sometimes just like to cook without thinking about photography…  Yum!  I just got the October issue of delicious and can’t wait to try some more recipes, and I promise to try to take more pics.

Photos from: my camera

Recipe adapted from: September 2010 Delicious Magazine

12 Comments

Filed under food

12 responses to “Polenta with Roasted Vegetables and Goats Cheese

  1. oh my gosh this looks delicious!
    Yum

  2. krisblucher

    It WAS delicious. I’m hungry now looking at it again haha

  3. Damn girl, that looks phenomenal.

  4. This looks delicious! Normally I’m not a fan of goat’s cheese, but this makes me want to give it another try.

    • oh I love goat’s cheese so much, but the original recipe called for a blue cheese like gorgonzola – you could use any cheese that you like really – I think a pretty strong cheese would be best though!

  5. minxinblack

    looks yum! I have never had polenta though. What does it taste like?

    • hmm polenta is a hard one to describe… it is made from corn and a light yellow in colour, and when cooked like this it is very mild allowing the parmesan and goats cheese to be the dominant flavours. I have seen it set and then grilled before but again I think it would need some kind of sauce or dressing to give it a kick of flavour. You should try it sometime 🙂

  6. D Whizzle

    That looks amazing Jas!

  7. duuuudeeeee!
    this looks fricking amazing! hah, oh wow.
    totally going to make a feeble attempt in making that some time this week.
    om nom nom x

    • Thanks for you comment Lauren! wow I have had such a hectic week i can’t even remember if I replied to you. Good luck making it, seriously it was so easy – but I wish you could see how good the one in the magazine looked, not my dodgy interpretation and photography haha.

Leave a Reply

