Flourless Chocolate and Raspberry Cake

Two of our wonderful friends had us over for dinner on our anniversary the other night, so of course as a good guest I thought I should bring dessert.  I’m always looking for an excuse to bake a cake to share with other people, as Kris and I would just eat the whole thing given the opportunity.

As one of our hosts can’t do gluten (even though it is SOOOO delicious), I thought it would be a great chance to try a flourless chocolate cake.  One of the best cakes I have ever tasted was a flourless chocolate cake with raspberries, and I knew I had raspberries in the freezer, so searched for a recipe to reflect this.

I didn’t plan to blog this as I was super rushed, so didn’t take photos as I went, but as soon as I took the first bite I knew that I just had to share this recipe.  It was a pretty easy cake to make, but takes a few steps, and it was pretty robust considering I ran out of both butter and brown sugar so used a bit less than the recipe called for.

This cake was almost like a dense brownie, soft and gooey in the middle as it was still warm straight from the oven, and perfectly crisp on top.  I didn’t believe the recipe that it needed 1 hour 45 min of baking, so baked for about 40 mins in our oven, and after a quick car ride threw it in the girls’ oven for another half hour.  When I thought it was finished I just turned the oven off and left the cake in there while we chatted the night away.

Oh it was just divine.  We were all quiet for one small minute while we enjoyed the first bite, the crisp crust sticking to our teeth.  If I ever hear a girlfriend has had her heart broken, I know that the perfect fix would be a girlie movie, a tub of ice cream and a huge slice of this cake, straight from the oven.  It was that good.

I threw some raspberries on from the freezer just for show (plus I love eating frozen raspberries, they are so good!), and despite my impatience they finally defrosted in time for me to snap some pics before we polished off the left overs.

There is nothing quite like a cake straight from the oven, but the left overs were still so good even though we didn’t warm them up.

Recipe from: Woman’s Day

Photos from: my camera, taken the day after baking

9 Comments

Filed under food

9 responses to “Flourless Chocolate and Raspberry Cake

  1. I know you’re in the medical profession but you should seriously consider opening a restaurant….you are such great skills 🙂

  2. Be still my heart! I love flourless chocolate cake, the consistency is just fabulous. Your friends are lucky!

  3. oh my….my mouth just started to water!! what i wouldnt give for a midnight snack of chocolate cake right about now 🙂

    xx

  4. anwa

    Ohh I want cake so much right now, thanks to this….
    Just yesterday I was talking with a friend about -less desserts. She’d mentioned that she once made brownies with plain yogurt instead of eggs and butter, and they turned out delicious.

  5. Lucinda

    I am wondering if I could bake the raspberries IN the cake. What do others think ? I have to take something to work for our morning tea, and thought this would make it easier to transport.

Leave a Reply

