Here comes the sun & bokeh love

I was very excited to see that the lovely Amanda from Here Comes the Sun was running a competition to win a Lomo camera.

I have wanted one of these babies to play around with for so long (even though I am super lazy with getting film developed, I think they take such beautiful photos with unexpected results).ย  I also loved the idea of a challenge to see the most creative way to photograph one of her stickers, which was really good for me to try to imagine a photo before I take it, rather than just snapping away without any kind of goal.

After reading Amanda’s beautiful blog, I know that she loves all kinds of pretty things, and photos with a romantic feel, so thought I would do my best to create that kind of vibe in my first photo entry. Using a flower and bottle that I have in our room, and a bit of post-processing, I’m really happy with how this one came out.

here comes the sun

My wonderful boyfriend bought me a little present online a few weeks ago, and when it arrived we had a play around to see what we could get to happen using the lights we could see from our balcony.

Bokeh hearts

After a bit of fiddling, a borrowed lens and a lesson from Kris, I figured out how to make ‘good bokeh’, and spent the rest of the night snapping photos with the various shapes that came with the kit.

Bokeh love

And perfect for Christmas…

Bokeh stars

As soon as I figured it out, I knew I wanted to incorporate some ‘heart bokeh’ into another photo of Amanda’s sticker. Unfortunately I couldn’t get exactly the effect that I wanted, but I had heaps of fun trying (and learned a bit about photography along the way).

here comes the sun heart

Before you think I am getting greedy with blog competitions, I was involved in this before I had any idea about the other wonderful prizes I had won (that I can’t wait to share with you all).ย  I still feel a little ungrateful for even entering another competition, though I think it is nice for the bloggers to get a lot of entries.

Have a fabulous weekend!

4 Comments

Filed under life, photography

4 responses to “Here comes the sun & bokeh love

  1. Steve

    Will you bloody well stop teasing and tell about the prizes you have won? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Bokeh looks like such fun to play around with … I can’t wait to give it a go myself! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. How fun, your pictures turned out lovely!

Leave a Reply

