Party food: Watermelon ‘cake’

I can hardly believe that it is our last week at work… this year has just flown by so fast!  Of course, with Christmas comes parties, and it can be a bit tough sometimes to think of what to bring to share as party food, especially knowing that we don’t have access to an oven at work and there will be plenty of cakes, cookies and sweets provided.

This year, I decided to forego the baking and bring some healthy snacks, that I know I will be craving after one too many chips or cupcakes.

For the rest of this post – Come visit me at my new address: fizzleout.com.au

23 Comments

Filed under food

23 responses to “Party food: Watermelon ‘cake’

  1. What a superb idea….looks beautiful

  2. This looks both cute and tasty! It makes me wish that Christmas season in this hemisphere was watermelon season as well.

  3. I am totally going to make this (considering my husband is telling me that the pavlova I was intending to make is ‘too sugary’).

  4. looks delicious!!

    xoxo
    b

  5. This looks both delicious and beautiful….but it’s snowing outside so won’t be trying it until summer…..I must remember to file this recipe away somewhere..

    • thank you!! yes I have a ‘to try’ bookmark folder that I use to save all the amazing recipes from Northern hemisphere bloggers. Must be hard to imagine watermelon when it is snowing haha.

  6. After looking at yours and then Martha’s, yours is my pick! its a little rugged looking but a lot delicious and has inspired me to try it for Christmas.

    Thankyou!
    Samantha
    ashtogold.blogspot.com

  7. This is beautiful – it looks incredible and there’s nothing better than fresh watermelon at this time of year.

    I think I’ll need to ‘make’ something similar to balance all the unhealthiness I’ll be indulging in! 🙂

  8. Bunty

    Merry Christmas and Happy New to Fizzle out person with the best blog in the whole wide world. xxxx

  9. Bunty

    Merry christmas to the best blogger in the whole wide world. xx

  10. lovely idea! i would totally go to that over a real cake any day.

    you might have to try a kitchen specialty store for the mellon baller. or a store like target. not sure what they have on your side of the pond…

  11. This is sooo unique and wonderful looking. What’s bad about this is, I don’t eat Watermelon lol. But you make me wanna start eating it all over again.

  12. Wow those watermelons are a work of art.

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

