Merry Christmas

Sorry I have been a little MIA, but I have been busy doing absolutely nothing, enjoying my first few days of unemployment and of course enjoying the festive season.

I hope all of you had a wonderful Christmas, surrounded by loved ones, presents and good food, because I sure did!

This year was a pretty special one, since my mum and brother have both been traveling and it was the first chance for the family to be together in over 6 months. Upon my brother’s arrival back in Australia after adventuring through South East Asia, he was hospitalised with malaria, but thankfully, was allowed out in time for Christmas.

 

In view of this, our Christmas Eve ‘tradition’ of spending time together playing board games and eating was more precious than ever, and I really was so thankful to spend time with my family (and of course my lover) eating good food (yum vegetarian Laksa), drinking wine and spending time in the kitchen.

I can hardly believe that Kris and I (two future med students I might add) got flogged by the rest of the family at scrabble.Β  Whoever said two heads are better than one?

This year, we decided to give our families little gift hampers full of home-made goodies instead of buying gifts, and I will be sharing some photos and the recipes in the next few weeks.

So sorry for the lack of makeup… eeeeekkk!

We were lucky enough to be spoiled and given some much needed kitchen supplies, and my wonderful mum was obviously paying attention when I raved about the super cute babushka measuring cups and spoons.Β  I am sensing a bit of a theme for our new kitchen πŸ˜‰

We also scored a beautiful silk bedspread, brought back from the Indian leg of my brother’s trip.

Kris always loves opening presents, though our present to each other this year was so huge it couldn’t be wrapped!Β  But that is another whole blog post in itself.

Mum is finally getting the hang of my SLR… don’t get too comfortable though Mum!Β  It will be a while before I can afford an upgrade πŸ˜‰

Check out Kris’ website for a great Christmas portrait he took of our family.

I have so many photos to share so expect plenty of blog posts to come, now that I have so much time on my hands there really aren’t any excuses…

What did you get up to for Christmas?Β  I hope you all have fabulous plans for NYE!

Photos from: my camera mostly taken by my mum πŸ™‚

6 Comments

Filed under life

6 responses to “Merry Christmas

  1. Sheila

    yum, chocolate biscotti recipe, please!! they’re all gone already!!

  2. CG

    Merry Christmas Jazz! Looks like you’ve had a wonderful Christmas! My best wishes for the new year! More recipes please! πŸ˜€

  3. I love those photos … it definitely looks like you all had a fantastic Christmas. What a lovely collection of gifts and happy, smiling people! πŸ™‚

    You’ll just have to hold a scrabble re-match! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

