Indian feast: Red Lentil Dahl, Yoghurt and Chickpea Salad & Herbed Naan

Indian is one of our favourite cuisines and especially on a lazy Friday night in, we tend to pick up takeaway from our local Indian place (and they do an amazing student deal so we are regular customers!).  Unfortunately, I have never really been able to recreate the same type of flavours in my own kitchen, despite numerous attempts.

I recently decided to try again, using a recipe from my parents collection of favourites: Spinach and Red Lentil Dahl (recipe below).

A quick internet search yielded the perfect accompaniment: Yoghurt and Chickpea salad

Some crazy part of me decided that I wanted to make naan bread from scratch (though we ate the left overs with store bought chapattis, which were also delicious).  I altered the recipe to use half wholemeal flour and half white flour, and they turned out just the same as using 100% white flour.

If you have a pizza stone that would be ideal for cooking, but otherwise you can turn an oven tray upside down and ensure it is placed in the oven prior to preheating.  Just remember to start the naan early, as it requires a couple of hours for the dough to rise.

Top with melted ghee or butter, and an assortment of herbs (I used coriander and parsley).  Garlic would be fabulous too if you want to scare away some vampires!

This recipe doesn’t make a huge amount, so if you are cooking for more than 2 people I would recommend doubling the measurements.

2 tbs ghee or vegetable oil
1 lg onion finely chopped
2 cloves garlic crushed
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp garam masala
1/2 tsp turmeric
1 small fresh red chilli finely chopped (or to taste)
1/2 cup red lentils
1/2 cup sultanas
2 cups water
bunch of spinach or packet of frozen
salt and pepper to taste
packet of chappatis or naans
fresh coriander to garnish

Heat ghee/oil in large pan over low heat.  Add onion and garlic and cook until soft.  At this point add cumin, garam masala, tumeric and chilli, stirring for about 1 min until fragrant.  Stir in the water, red lentils and sultanas.  Simmer uncovered for 10 min or until the mixture is thick.

Add the spinach and cook until wilted (or defrosted), season with salt and pepper.  Add coriander and serve.

Enjoy your indian feast!

Photos from: my camera

11 Comments

Filed under food

11 responses to “Indian feast: Red Lentil Dahl, Yoghurt and Chickpea Salad & Herbed Naan

  1. I can’t believe you MADE this (especially the naan)! It looks so professional! Indian food is always something I’ve been too intimidated to try at home, so I am really impressed!
    – Catherine

    • I know exactly what you mean about indian food! I have tried so many times and it is just not the same as when you get it takeaway! Even though this is not quite there – it is definitely passable! Thanks for the comment lovely one

  2. The bread looks AMAZING!

  3. I love naan!! Usually just broil some up from the grocery store…..but this looks pretty simple! That’s quite a feast! Hope you enjoyed it!

  4. I discovered u r blog thru wordpress & I have been following u r posts for quite sometime now & I really enjoy u r blog……
    U r recipes are so detailed & u r images attached are wonderful..

    Reading this Indian recipe on u r blog made me want to appreciate u …
    U have really done a great job with naan…even we don’t usually try them at home as they are pretty complicated…

    This is one very impressive blog & keep on the good work……..

  5. Hi frizle ,………….that was an appreciating work, actually cooking is my hobbie and I’m belongs to India…..if you want some ideas and help about Indian cuisine……just ask to me……..good job……

  6. literally after scrolling down past all those food post my mouth is watering!! AHMAZING photos doll! and the food looks oh so delish!!
    ps. thank you so so much for your super sweet comment hunni ❤ xxx

    http://www.iletaitunefois.com.au/

  7. tina

    to dr fizzle and dr butcher :-/ i think your blog is fantastic and even though i dont get to read it all the time i love looking back to see all the new things you have done, photographed or written. if you dont become doctors well you will certainly be able to get into journalism.
    I hope we will all get together as a family very very soon.
    Love and kisses
    Tina and Mick xxxxx

Leave a Reply

